Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I'm FREEEEE

I'M OFFICIALLY DONE MY FIRST YEAR OF NURSING SCHOOL!!!! WOOOO!!!

Just 3 more to go.

I wrote a final for my spring class (Physio II) on Monday.

It feels sort of odd to be free from studying. I still feel the pang of guilt when I am enjoying myself thinking I should be doing something else more important... but I'm sure that shall pass!


I am going to enjoy the everloving fuck out of these next 2 months before I go back to school consuming my every minute.

I plan to read the mountains of books I have stacked in my room. Leisure reading. COME TO ME!!!

I also plan to do a lot of movie watching.

Most of all, getting fit! I finally tried out my yoga DVD & it has been kicking my ass ever since. I shall post more on that soon! Ya know. Since I have all this free time for blogging now! :)


Oh Summer, how I love thee.

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Ups & Downs

A quick little update.


I gained 1 lb. last week, but on the flip side I'm down a size!!!  I definitely take that as a good sign.


Since Sunday I haven't done much in terms of workouts though. I did a 5k on Sunday, then a little stroll on Tuesday... I need to get back into it. My bigger sized pants are packed up into a box for good will, so there's no going back!


I wrote my second midterm for my spring class yesterday & I write my final on the 25th. Once that class over I will be updating more regularly!


Happy Thursday!

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Nursing school - Where to begin???

heh


Oh boy.


I feel as though it was FOREVER ago that I walked into my first class on that first day of school, back on that fateful day in September, not knowing a single person, when in actuality it was just 9 little months ago. I guess 9 months is an entire pregnancy & could be seen as a long time..


This looking back task feels daunting.. SOO much happened. I feel like I am new person from the one who walked into the school with my coffee mug filled to the brim, eager to learn, excited for the change I was making in my life. Gosh, I'm excited just thinking about making that leap, so very happy that I made it & I am a happier person today because of it. :) The eager to learn & excitement for change are still the same, I've just grow a great deal over the past 9 months & feel more complacent with life than ever before. I know this is where I am meant to be. Everything just feels so right. :)


I posted my schedule in a previous post but I didn't actually end up taking ASL 111, as it says. The class filled up fast & a spot never opened up :( I did attend the class up until the drop date, so as not to miss anything had a spot opened up.. but one never did ... I'm thinking now, it was probably for the best... & I have every intention of learning sign language in the future. So it was no loss, really.


Anyhow, I don't know how to lay out these posts... should I recap each class individually? Or all together, in chunks of time? I don't know, I don't know... I guess a good place to start is the prereque's I had to get done before classes even started? Well.. I guess there was only the security check I had to get before classes started in September, there was a lot more to do before clinicals in January. So that is not a good place to start, because what more is there to say about getting a security clearance? I got it. I'm not a criminal. Yay!!


Any ideas? Suggestions?


I'm thinking I will do it class by class. :)

Monday, June 4, 2012

Daily Eats - Monday June 4

staple food item
More often than not I start my morning off with organic yogurt & breakfast boost with the addition of whatever fruit (frozen or fresh) we happen to have at the time, especially on work days when I have to be up at 3:45 & to work by 5am... This morning there was a fruit salad in the fridge, so I just added a couple big scoops of that to my yogurt.
Mmmm
I woke a little late this morning, so I didn't have time to stop for my morning coffee. It was not good... especially after only getting 4 hours of sleep. Zzzzz. So when the coffee truck came by my work I was all over it. I got a coffee with hazelnut creamer & a puffed wheat square.
no regrets
This is one of my busier days, I have to skip my lunch at work so I can leave early & go straight to class (I'm taking Physio II... more on school coming soon!!) Anyway, I ate my lunch at my desk. It was homemade linguine pasta & curry sauce from a fellow my mom knows....
i added in some fresh garden peas straight from their shell
My at school snack... I stopped for a Himalayan Mist London fog on my way :)

grapes & red peppers #itswhatwasinthefridge
I wasn't feeling good when I got home & I hadn't really had any protein all day, except for what's in the yogurt & breakfast boost... so I decided on something simple & protein packed: breakfast for dinner. (which is my favorite meal of the day... breakfast that is... I could eat it for every meal.)

eggs on whole grain toast, chocolate almond milk(unsweetened) & a bowl o watermelon
The end.

Run #11 - C25K Update



I went for it! I started Week 2! & boy did it ever kick my ass! Woooweee! This is what Week 2 consists of: 5 min warm up; 3X - run 45sec, walk 60sec, run 60sec, walk 90sec, run 90sec, walk 2min; 5 min cool down.

I wasn't able to complete all of the run intervals especially towards the end, I had quite a lot of pain  in my shins... but it was a beautiful day & the sun was shining & I did it to the best of my ability... :) I wasn't able to do all the run intervals when I started Week 1 either. ;)

#ilovethispath


look at that blue sky
The geese were out with their new babies...

see them off to the left?
Here's a closer look...

cutest little fur balls

Here are my stats for the run:

June 3 - Week 2 Day 1 - 33:28 - 2.87km - 287cal - run pace 8:34/km - walk pace 13:01/km
My run pace was skewed by my walking of the last run interval.

I'm going to start referring to it as Month 2, since I will most likely be doing Week 2 for the month of June before I move up again...

After my run, I went over to my friend's place & we got delicious London Fog's (mine was called Himalayan Mist) to drink on her patio.

so yommmy

It was a really nice way to start off my Sunday before having to go into work at 1, where I had a most delicious lunch!

 


My next run will be tomorrow with A! It is supposed to be a rainy day with a high of 24! I love a good run in the rain!

Sunday, June 3, 2012

The weigh it is...


Since I hit my highest weight ever at the end of last year, I have been weighing in every Sunday in hopes to see that number go down. So far, it hasn't exceeded that dreaded number or gone back there, but the speed at which it is coming off is definitely at a turtles crawl, with many naps along the way. Seriously. I will have an amazing week, then gain it all back plus some the next, it's really driving me bonkers. What I KNOW works, is keeping track of what I'm eating. I've got the being active portion covered. ;) I just know I could be losing faster if I was more accountable for what/how much I'm eating. It's truly a fight against my subconscious. When I'm in pretty well ANY mood fluctuation; happy, sad, angry, worried, tired, stressed, elated, bored... (enter every & all moods) I turn to food. It's been that way for so long, it's definitely proving to be the hardest of habits to change. It is as hard as a smoker trying to quit smoking or an alcoholic trying to stop drinking... the biggest glaring difference being I can't cut food from my life! Food is one of life's basic necessities. It will always be there. For the most part I eat healthily. I like raw, organic foods in my diet most of all. My biggest problem is quantity... and ice cream & chocolate SOO after weighing in this morning, after my morning pee, in my birthday suit & seeing that number drop for the second week in a row, by 0.6lbs... HEY, that 1.4 total! I'll take it! But I know I can do better. I'm ready to tackle this food addiction once & for all! I mean business. I have been working out all of May, nearly everyday, minus a rest day here & there. Point being, I've formed a habit, that I, nor my body, want to quit! I'm loving my new post workout glows. With the sweat dripping down my brow...

post cross train

I want to make myself accountable for what is going in my mouth in the same way I plan my workouts for the week & follow through with them!


So far I am still down from my highest weight. But I've got a LOONGGG ways to go.... over 100 pounds long. I'm not at a point where setting goals really drives me, it's not even about the number really, I'm mostly looking to feel better about myself and to be healthier all around. which requires some pound sheddage I'm thinking I will post what I've eaten on here, not everyday, that would just get crazy, but a couple days a week. To keep myself accountable, as well as posting my weekly weigh in's. So as of now my total weight down = -8.2lbs. Hopefully next week I'm faced with a smaller number.


Happy Sunday! =)

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Cool winnings

Last weekend I was at my little cousins dance recital. They were having a silent auction in support of the dancers & I bid on a bag of lululemon goodies among other things. Anyway, I WON said bag! I ended up getting a pretty sweet deal on it, too! So, what did I win?


the goods
A water bottle, a yoga mat & a yoga bag! I've been using the bottle in replace of my coffee mug that I had been using... but I think it holds less water, which I don't like. But it's made of glass, which I DO like. So everything cancels everything else out & I am fully enjoying it! :) As for the mat & bag.. Well I have yet to use them, but look what came in the mail on Friday!!!
the mat shall be going to good use VERY soon

Once I start going to actual yoga classes outside of my home ie: once I am comfortable then the bag will come in real handy. It is actually quit a versatile lil thing, so I may even use it sooner than that.

Run #10 - C25K Update


It's funny how at the start of every run I begin to psych myself out about not being able to do it and then before I know it, the little voice coming out of my phone is saying "run complete". It is still a struggle. It's getting better though. This last run of May was by far the best one yet. Third time in a row I was able to run to completion all of the intervals! Felt AMAZING!
Stats:

May 30 - Week 1 Day 3 - 26:29 - 2.48km - 231cal - run pace 8:02/km - walk pace 12:14/km

The goal from here on out is to try to go on to Week 2 now that we've moved onto a new month. I feel a little scared & afraid I won't be able to do it, but there's only one way to find out & hey, maybe I'll surprise myself. So tomorrow morning, that is the plan. I'm heading out into the dewy outdoors to concur Week 2 Day 1!